January 27, 1945:
Soviet troups liberate Auschwitz.

February, 1945:
Jalta conference.

April 30, 1945:
Hitler commits suicide in Berlin.

May 8, 1945:
Unconditional surrender of the German Army in Reims (France) and Berlin.


Post war history

June 5, 1945:
Allied military commanders take over government power in Germany.

Partition of Germany. Four zones of occupation are established.

Beginning of the nationalisation of the insurance business in the Soviet zone of occupation.

Communist regimes are established in Poland, East Germany, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia and Romania.

Directive No. 24 of the Allied Control Council (1946) regulates the denazification process.

© Allianz 2000-2018